Sound Circle Brumby

 

Megan Nielsen Brumby Skirt

Shirred back Brumby skirt


A while back, I made a loose waisted Brumby skirt/Staple dress mash-up. Since then, I’ve worn it a couple times (especially on airplanes), but I was always dissatisfied with it. I enjoyed sewing it, because I was trying something new, and I liked the concept and the comfort.

However, in practice the neckline was wonky, the split sleeves didn’t sit right, and it was just too much of a sack. I knew I had to do something with it, because I love the Nani Iro Sound Circle double gauze fabric. Originally I was going to try to alter it but keep it as a dress, but in the end I decided to just turn it into a Megan Nielsen Brumby Skirt.



There’s something different about this Brumby, however– it has a shirred/elastic back waistband!

 

the shirred back waistband

I’ve been wanting to try this for ages, but it took me a while to figure out how to actually do it. In the end, it worked out so well, and I’m so happy with it! I know this skirt will get a lot more wear than the original dress.


The stretchiness means it’s extremely comfortable, and will be absolutely perfect for travelling, because even if my weight fluctuates it’ll still fit. I’m definitely doing this hack on my next Brumby skirt– if anyone would like a tutorial to see how it’s done, let me know, because I will be making it soon πŸ™‚

 

hammock tested πŸ˜€

 

3 thoughts on “Sound Circle Brumby

  1. Pingback: Curvy Sewn: Your Creations for March

Leave a Reply

