Moon Bunnies Hazel

moonbunniesdress

At the stream in Seoul

Another long overdue post! I’ve had so many visitors in the last few months (five since March), that my sewing time has taken a serious hit– since I finished this dress in early May, all I’ve made is one pair of pajama shorts. Hopefully after my visit to California at the end of this month, I’ll be able to get myself back into it– I still think about sewing (and stalk sewing blogs) as much as ever, so I should work harder to turn thought into action.

Yes, it’s another Colette Patterns Hazel. When I made this dress, I wanted something that wouldn’t give me headaches trying to figure out pattern adjustments, something that I could dive right into for a quick and satisfying result. So of course, Hazel. This is my fourth one! It really is such a perfect summer dress for me, with its comfortable and flattering fit-and-flare shape, pockets, and bare shoulders. Because I’ve made it before so many times, I’ll just refer you to my Manhattan Hazel, if you want more information on fitting (and you can see my third Hazel here).

To keep it brief, this dress was made up in size 16 (bodice and skirt– two of my versions used the size 18 skirt, but I’ve decided I like the less gathered, slimmer size 16 better), hemmed a bit shorter, and with 3 cm or so added on top to raise the neckline and cover my bra.

moon bunnies hazel

As for the fabric, the main one is Cotton & Steel Mochi Moon Bunnies in Navy, from fabric.com. There’s still more available here .I fell for this print as soon as I saw it, and just knew I had to get it on my body ASAP.  There’s still some in stock, if you’re interested. It’s a quilting cotton, which really is perfect for this dress!  Yet another reason I love the Hazel dress– it makes a great canvas for quilting cotton prints.

For the contrast panels and pockets, I used plain black quilting cotton. I didn’t consider doing contrast panels until I was actually cutting out the main fabric, when I suddenly realised that I’d have to think about print placement. I was worried that it might look a bit weird if I didn’t match the print, and was in no way inclined to make the effort of figuring out how to make that work with the triangular bodice panels. So I opted for black contrast panels, and then just matched the print along the back seam (and tried but made a silly mistake and failed to match it along the side seams). In the end, I think I prefer it with the black anyways, and I’m very happy with this product of laziness design feature.

The photos were taken during a day out in Seoul with a friend. The ones above are along Cheonggyecheon stream. Below are some action shots– a cheeky afternoon mojito cocktail bag in the Daehangno neighbourhood, and cycling around Yeouido on a different day.

moonbunnies dressmoonbunniescycling

9 thoughts on “Moon Bunnies Hazel

  1. I just realized, looking through your blog for more inspiring ideas, that you’re pretty new to sewing. You’ve got great skills — both technical and in selecting fabrics for projects. I’ve been sewing about seven years (no blog – yet!) and I truly mean the compliment — you’ve made super pieces. Keep it up! (A bit addictive, isn’t it?) Cheers.

    Like

    • So addictive! Been sewing just over a year, intermittently… actually, due to a mix of visitors and a bunch of discouraging fitting problems on several projects, I still haven’t made anything besides a pair of pajama shorts since this dress in May… however, a recent fabric buying spree has motivated me to get back at it, and as of last night I sorted out the fitting on the True Bias southport dress– woohoo! Gonna start making the real thing tonight 😀 Thanks so much for the encouragement– I’ve been really needing it lately!

      Like

    • I tend to sew in spurts (currently making a bunch of new things) so I know about long breaks from making anything. I’m glad my feedback came just as you’re getting back into it. I’ll revisit the blog to see what’s new. Have fun! (Maybe I’ll take your advice and start one eventually.) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

